Hockey Victoria 2017 Awards

September 21, 2017 at 12:41 PM

Congratulations to Hayley, Sam, Meg, Russell, Josh and Chris

Hockey Victoria presented the association’s elite awards for 2017 and six Doncaster players were part of those awards.

Hayley Padget, Sam Snow and Meg Pearce were all selected in the Women’s All Star Team for the year.  Hayley was runner up in the Don and Pam Vincent Award, the Premier League Best and Fairest.  Hayley polled 28 votes for the season, just one vote behind Emily Hurtz and Aisling Utri who tied for this prestigious Award on 27 votes.

In the Men’s All Star Team, Russell Ford and Josh Simmonds were selected in this elite team for 2017.  Chris Ciriello was awarded the Max Campbell Award, the Viking of the Year for 2017.  In 2015 the Viking of the Year Award was named after Doncaster’s Max Campbell.  Max was a past player, junior coach, team manager, committee person and friend to many at Doncaster.  This is the second occasion Chis has won this award.

The Club is very proud of these players being acknowledged in this way for wonderful seasons.  Congratulations to you all.


Doncaster's All Star Team members: Sam Snow, Russell Ford, Meg Pearce, Josh Simmonds, Hayley Padget

Russell, Josh and Chris will be joined by Jay Randhawa and Kiran Arunasalam in the Vikings team as they head off next week to the Australian Hockey League tournament in Perth.

Hayley, Sam and Meg were also selected in the Vipers team for the AHL tournament as was Maddi Ratcliffe.  Unfortunately, an injury to Hayley means she won't be able to compete in the AHL tournament despite being selected in the final team.

The AHL tournament, both Men and Women, will be played in Perth from 28 September to 8 October.